Board of Trustees, 2019-2020

2019-2020 Board of Directors

David Wickard, Clerk
Sese Abhulimen, Assistant Clerk
Linda Phreaner, Treasurer
Randy Lyons, Recording Clerk

Mimi Blackwell
Jon Burton ’66
Phil Cooke
Jordan Fischer ‘99
Lauren Hastings
Sojung Kim
Celia Lang
Ron Madden
Leslie Spangler
Robert Vosburgh

Founded in 1836 by the West Chester Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers), West Chester Friends School is a separately incorporated, not-for-profit school governed by a Board of Trustees (School Board). The School Board is presently composed of 15 volunteers, eight of whom are Quakers. Members are nominated by the Committee on Trustees, brought to the School Board for approval, and to the Meeting for affirmation.

The School Board is responsible for general oversight of the school:

  • appointing and evaluating the Head of School
  • setting policies and guidelines of operation
  • maintaining the stability of the school through fiduciary responsibility and stewardship of resources
  • providing leadership in development and strategic planning